New Melvins album due in April

Everybody’s favourite noisemakers (the) Melvins will release a new album in April 2013.

Released via Mike Patton’s Ipecac label, the thirteen track effort finds Buzz ‘King Buzzo’ Osborne and co putting their stamp on works originally by David Bowie, The Jam, Roxy Music, Queen and The Kinks. Each cover is a collaboration with a guest artist and those roped in to help include Mudhoney’s Mark Arm, Jello Biafra and cult film maker John Waters.

This is not the first time The Melvins have embarked on such a project; 2000’s ‘The Crybaby’ mixed cover tunes and an array of guest performers including the members of Tool, Mike Patton, David Yow and 70s teen star Lief Garrett.

As most Melvins fans will be aware, this new project will yield some interesting results, though why they’ve decided it should be called ‘Everybody Loves Sausages’ is anyone’s guess…

The full tracklist can be seen below.

1. Warhead (feat. Scott Kelly of Neurosis)
2. You’re My Best Friend (feat. Caleb Benjamin of Tweak Bird)
3. Black Betty
4. Set It On Fire (feat. Mark Arm)
5. Station To Station (w/ JG Thirlwell)
6. Attitude (feat. Blondie’s Clem Burke)
7. Female Trouble (feat. Divine a.k.a. John Waters)
8. Carpe Diem
9. Timothy Leary Lives
10. In Every Dream Home A Heartache (feat. Jello Biafra and Kevin Rutmanis)
11. Romance
12. Art School (feat. Tom Hazelmeyer)
13. Heathen Earth