Deer Tick confirm new compilation release for February ’19

Cult indie/Americana band Deer Tick have confirmed they will release a new album in February 2019.

Entitled ‘Mayonnaise’, the album will feature re-workings of tracks from 2017’s critically acclaimed ‘Deer Tick Vol. 1’ and ‘Vol. 2’ albums alongside some well chosen cover tunes, including familiar material written by George Harrison and The Velvet Underground.

A full press release will all the details follows.  You can also take an early listen to a couple of the tracks.  Deer Tick are back in the UK for live shows next month, including an appearance at Dingwalls in Camden.





Photo credit: Scott Alario

On Feb 1st Deer Tick will release a new compilation album entitled ‘Mayonnaise’ – a 13-song companion piece to last year’s full-length albums ‘Deer Tick Vol. 1’ and ‘Deer Tick Vol. 2.’ Listen to two tracks from ‘Mayonnaise’ now – a cover of George Harrison’s “Run Of The Mill” as well as brand new track “Hey! Yeah!,” which is accompanied by a Scorpion Dagger animated visualizer.

Check out “Hey! Yeah!” HERE
Listen to “Run Of The Mill” HERE

The band explains: “On ‘Mayonnaise,’ you’ll find alternate versions of songs from ‘Vol. 1’ & ‘Vol. 2’ that we feel have their own merit and wanted to share. We also decided to record some of the cover songs that ‘Vol. 1’ & ‘Vol. 2’ inspired us to play on our Twice Is Nice Tour. We had such a good time playing these covers live that it felt appropriate to document them here. And, lastly, if we are going into the studio, why not write a few new songs, record them, and give the fans something new to round everything out? So, here you go, this is ‘Mayonnaise.’

‘Deer Tick Vol. 1’ and ‘Deer Tick Vol. 2’ were the band’s first new material since 2013’s ‘Negativity’ and were recorded at the legendary Ardent Studios in Memphis, TN. The albums earned raves everywhere from Vice NoiseyConsequence of Sound, Mojo, Uncut, Uproxx, as well as a performance on CBS This Morning. The band will be on tour in the UK / Ireland this November. More dates to be announced soon, full routing HERE.


Thu Nov 8 Dingwalls, London, UK
Fri Nov 9 Night & Day, Manchester, UK
Sat Nov 10 Whelan’s, Dublin, Ireland
Sun Nov 11 Stereo, Glasgow, UK
Mon Nov 12 Brudenell Social Club, Leeds, UK

‘Mayonnaise’ tracklist:

1. Spirals
2. Limp Right Back (Alternate Version)
3. White City (The Pogues cover)
4. Old Lady
5. Run Of The Mill (George Harrison cover)
6. Strange, Awful Feeling
7. End Of The World (Alternate Version)
8. Hey! Yeah!
9. Pale Blue Eyes (Velvet Underground cover)
10. Memphis Chair
11. Too Sensitive For This World (Ben Vaughn cover)
12. Doomed From The Start (Alternate Version)
13. Cocktail (feat. Spencer Cullum Jr. of Steelism)

Praise for ‘Deer Tick Vol. 1’ and ‘Deer Tick Vol. 2’

“…with Vol. 1 and Vol. 2, McCauley solidifies his status as a modern-day barstool poet…throughout both albums, the band varies its rhythms and arrangements with surprising agility.” – Pitchfork

“Vol.1 is raw, introspective and rootsy… Vol.2 is its noisy yang” – Mojo

“Vol 1 is reflective and rootsy… Vol 2 is high-class punk thrash” – Uncut

“…’Deer Tick Vol. 1′ and ‘Vol. 2’ find the Rhode Island roots rockers back and better than ever…Deer Tick’s most optimistic effort yet, a masterclass in newfound maturity not losing what made the band so likeable in the first place.” – Noisey

“If the motive behind putting out two albums with contrasting volumes was intended as a demonstration of ambition and range, well, mission accomplished” – NPR Fresh Air

Deer Tick: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Spotify