Arcade Fire win Polaris award

Arcade Fire were winners of the Polaris award for their album ‘The Suburbs’ on Monday night.

The full nominees for the 2011 award were as follows:

‘The Suburbs’ – Arcade Fire
‘Feel It Break’ – Austra
‘Native Speaker’ – Braids
‘Kaputt’ – Destroyer 
‘Tigre Et Diesel’ – Galaxie
‘Seeds’ – Hey Rosetta! 
‘Long Player Late Bloomer’ – Ron Sexsmith
‘New History Warfare Vol. 2: Judges’ – Colin Stetson 
‘Creep On Creepin’ On’ – Timber Timbre
‘House Of Balloons’ – The Weeknd 


The Polaris is the Canadian equivalent of the British Mercury prize.

‘The Suburbs’ was a worldwide success, scoring the band a #1 album in the US, UK, Portugal, Belgium, Ireland, Canada and Norway and broke the top 5 in Germany, Finland, Spain and The Netherlands.