The original Black Sabbath back together again

The original line up of Black Sabbath have reunited.  The band are currently writing a new album and have plans to tour.

The last time the original line up of Ozzy Osbourne (vocals), Tony Iommi (guitar), Geezer Butler (bass) and Bill Ward (drums) played together was in 2006, though have not released any studio material since two newly written studio tracks were included on the end of their ‘Reunion’ live album back in 1998.

An attempt at making a new studio record in 2001 was aborted when Osbourne returned to solo work.  However, a newly written track, ‘Scary Dream’ was featured in the band’s live set.  Ten years later, ‘Scary Dream’ has never surfaced as a studio recording.

It is unclear as to whether the band have picked up from where they left off with regards to the proposed studio album or whether they have started from scratch.