Van Morrison to release 40th studio album ‘The Prophet Speaks’ in December

Van Morrison has been on somewhat of a creative role of late.   He only released his last studio album ‘You’re Driving Me Crazy’ (a collaboration with jazz man Joey DeFrancesco in July, but it’s been confirmed he’ll release new studio material before the end of 2018.

‘The Prophet Speaks’ will be released on 7th December and will again feature DeFrancesco and his band as Morrison tackles a selection of well chosen covers alongside newly self-penned material.

The album will be Morrison’s 40th studio album and – unbelievably – his fourth album of new material in just over fifteen months.

The album’s cover tunes include tracks originally by Sam Cooke, John Lee Hooker and Solomon Burke.

The title track is streaming right now at this location.

The full track listing is as follows:

  1. Gonna Send You Back To Where I Got You From (Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson, Leona Blackman)
  2. Dimples (John Lee Hooker, James Bracken)
  3. Got to Go Where The Love Is (Van Morrison)
  4. Laughin’ and Clownin’ (Sam Cooke)
  5. 5 am Greenwich Mean Time (Van Morrison)
  6. Gotta Get You Off My Mind (Solomon Burke, Delores Burke, Josephine Burke Moore)
  7. Teardrops (J.D. Harris)
  8. I Love The Life I Live (Willie Dixon)
  9. Worried Blues / Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (J.D. Harris)
  10. Ain’t Gonna Moan No More (Van Morrison)
  11. Love Is A Five Letter Word (Gene Barge)
  12. Love Is Hard Work (Van Morrison)
  13. Spirit Will Provide (Van Morrison)
  14. The Prophet Speaks (Van Morrison)