The Replacements’ Paul Westerberg & Tommy Stinson reunite to record new EP

Paul Westerberg and Tommy Stinson have reunited to record four new songs.

The former members of legendary punk/alt-rock band The Replacements last worked together on two new songs for the Replacements retrospective ‘Don’t You Know Who I Think I Was?’ in 2006. As with the previous reunion, drummer Chris Mars did not want to take part in this new project.

The four new songs will form a strictly limited 10″ vinyl EP, with a run of just 250 copies worldwide. Those copies will be auctioned to raise money for former Replacements guitarist Slim Dunlap who suffered a stroke earlier this year.

Songs featured on the EP are a cover of Dunlap’s own ‘Busted Up’ (featured on his solo album ‘The Old New Me’), the Hank Williams tune ‘Lost Highway’, Gordon Lightfoot’s ‘I’m Not Sayin’ and from the Broadway musical “Gypsy”, comes ‘Everything’s Coming Up Roses’.

Westerberg’s last solo release comprised a two song download ‘3oclockreep’ in 2008, but has not released a new full length album since ‘Folker’ in 2004.

Stinson’s last solo album ‘One Man Mustiny’ was released in 2011. Read a review here.