New Mott The Hoople box set to be released in November

Mott The Hoople were one of the great bands of the 1970s.  Whilst principally known for their mega hits ‘All The Young Dudes’, ‘Roll Away The Stone’ and ‘All The Way From Memphis’, the Mott story started a few years earlier.  Between 1969 and 1971, the band recorded four albums for Island Records of a far more experimental nature.

Those albums and various associated extras have been compiled on a lavish six disc box set entitled ‘Mental Train: The Island Years 1969-1971.  A very comprehensive set, there’s never been a better way to experience a run of often overlooked albums.

A full press release can be read below.

A review of Ian Hunter’s ‘Fingers Crossed’ can be found here.


“Mott would swing relentlessly and unstoppably into their show every night, like a marauding band of outlaws and every night there was something close to a riot – the kids couldn’t get close enough; they simply couldn’t get enough. Ian Hunter – the unwritten boss – would plant himself centre-stage behind his shades and dare anyone to remain seated.”

Brian May, Queen

November 2nd sees the release of a superb, new 6-disc boxed set encapsulating legendary English rock-band Mott the Hoople’s recorded output for Island Records, to whom they were signed, between 1969 and 1971.


Bringing together all of their albums from the period, the set also includes bonus material plus BBC sessions and live concerts. The studio albums have all been remastered from the original tapes (where available) by renowned engineer Andy Pearce and have been complemented by bonus tracks selected by Mott the Hoople expert, Kris Needs.

Disc 5 comprises more unheard and, in some cases, unreleased music from the Island archive and Disc 6 rounds everything off with live material recorded at Fairfield Hall, Croydon on 13th September 1970 plus a BBC Radio One In Concert from the Paris Theatre, London on 30th December 1971. The CDs are housed in a shoe box style package with a 50-page booklet designed by Phil Smee who scoured the archives for rare photos and memorabilia, tracing the evolution of the band. It is completed with comprehensive sleeve notes by Kris Needs.

Disc Titles:
Disc One: 
Mott the Hoople plus bonus tracks
Disc Two: Mad Shadows plus bonus tracks
Disc Three: Wildlife plus bonus tracks
Disc Four: Brain Capers plus bonus tracks
Disc Five: The Ballads of Mott The Hoople
Disc Six: It’s Live and Live Only

Mott the Hoople were one of the most prolific and important British rock bands of the early 1970s and have been cited as a major influence by members of a raft of subsequent groups, including Queen, Def Leppard, Oasis, R.E.M., Kiss, Motley Crue and The Clash. They continue to perform, in their current line-up, with Ian Hunter at the helm.

Pre-order the boxset, available November 2nd at & listen to a previously unreleased version of “Rock and Roll Queen” from the set, here.


Originally released November 22 1969 – Island Records ILPS 9108

  1. You Really Got Me

  2. At the Crossroads

  3. Laugh at Me

  4. Backsliding Fearlessly

  5. Rock and Roll Queen

  6. Rabbit Foot and Toby Time

  7. Half Moon Bay

  8. Wrath and Wroll

Bonus Tracks

  1. If Your Heart Lay with the Rebel (Would You Cheer the Underdog?) (Instrumental Take 2)

  2. Rock and Roll Queen (Single A side)

  3. Road to Birmingham (Single B side)

  4. Road to Birmingham (Guy Steven’s Mix)

  5. You Really Got Me (Complete take)

  6. You Really Got Me (Vocal mix) 

  7. Rock and Roll Queen (Guy Steven’s Mono Mix)

  8. Rock and Roll Queen (Kitchen Sink Instrumental)

  9. Little Christine (2 Miles)

Originally released September 1970 – Island Records ILPS 9119

  1. Thunderbuck Ram

  2. No Wheels to Ride

  3. You Are One of Us

  4. Walking with a Mountain

  5. I Can Feel

  6. Threads of Iron

  7. When My Mind’s Gone

Bonus Tracks

  1. Thunderbuck Ram (BBC Session)

  2. Thunderbuck Ram (Original Take with Organ)

  3. No Wheels to Ride (Demo)

  4. Moonbus (Baby’s Got a Down on Me)

  5. The Hunchback Fish (Vocal Rehearsal)

  6. You Are One of Us (Take 9)

  7. Going Home (2 Miles)

  8. Keep A-Knockin’ (Studio version)

Originally released March 1971 – Island Records ILPS 9144

  1. Whiskey Women

  2. Angel of Eighth Avenue

  3. Wrong Side of the River

  4. Waterlow

  5. Lay Down

  6. It Must Be Love

  7. The Original Mixed Up Kid

  8. Home Is Where I Want to Be

  9. Keep A-Knockin’ (Live)

Bonus Tracks

  1. Midnight Lady (Single A side)  

  2. The Debt (Single B side)

  3. Downtown (Single A side)

  4. Brain Haulage (Whiskey Woman)

  5. Growing Man Blues (Take 10)

  6. Long Red (Demo)

  7. The Ballad of Billy Joe

  8. Lay Down (Take 8

Originally released December 1971 – Island Records – ILPS 9178

  1. Death May Be Your Santa Claus

  2. Your Own Backyard

  3. Darkness, Darkness

  4. The Journey

  5. Sweet Angeline

  6. Second Love

  7. The Moon Upstairs

  8. The Wheel of the Quivering Meat Conception

Bonus Tracks

  1. Mental Train (The Moon Upstairs)

  2. How Long? (Death May Your Santa Claus)

  3. Darkness, Darkness

  4. Your Own Backyard (Complete Take)

  5. Where Do You All Come From (Backing Track)

  6. One of the Boys (Take 2)

  7. Movin’ On (2 Miles)

  8. Black Scorpio (Mommas Little Jewel)

Unheard and unreleased music from the Island archive

  1. Like a Rolling Stone (Fragment) 

  2. No Wheels to Ride (1st House)

  3. Angel Of 8th Avenue (Tape 816)

  4. The Journey

  5. Blue Broken Tears (Tape 816)

  6. Black Hills (Full Ralph’s Version)

  7. Can You Sing the Song That I Sing (Full Take)

  8. Till I’m Gone (2 Miles)

  9. The Original Mixed Up Kid (BBC Session)

  10. Ill Wind Blowing (2 Miles)

  11. I’m A River (Vocal Rehearsal) 

  12. Ride on The Sun (Sea Diver) (2 Miles)

– Tracks 1 – 7: Fairfield Hall, Croydon, 13 September 1970
– Tracks 8 to 12: Paris Theatre, London, BBC Radio One, In Concert, 30 December 1971

  1. Rock and Roll Queen

  2. Ohio

  3. No Wheels to Ride / Hey Jude

  4. Thunderbuck Ram

  5. Keep A-Knockin’

  6. You Really Got Me

  7. The Moon Upstairs

  8. Whiskey Women

  9. Your Own Backyard

  10. Darkness, Darkness

  11. The Journey

  12. Death May Be Your Santa Claus