Sixteen Records: A new electronica based label launches with new compilation

Lotte Van Den Berg, an artist and producer specialising in electronica is launching a new label, Sixteen Records. Not only the label founder, Lotte will also be taking on production, as well as the mastering and mixing for the majority of Sixteen Records’ planned releases.

Her main aim with the new label is to bring together disparate styles of alternative electronic music and its first release does exactly that. ‘Sixteen Records Vol. 1’ brings together twelve acts from right across the electronic music spectrum, so there’s a good chance that even the merely curious will find something to enjoy.

Highlights from the release include Lotte’s own band Luna Pines, whose ‘Spring’ melds electronica and dream pop to create something almost ethereal; Magic Hour Soundtrack whose sound is far more towards the cinematic; ‘Monolith’ by Imi, fusing heavy downtempo beats and an almost Julee Cruise-esque vocal; singer-songwriter Hannah Slavin who’s sound is altogether more accessible with a soulful vocal set against trip-hop beats and LELO, whose ‘I Looked At The Sun’ evokes the very finest 90s styled retro dreampop.

The label launches on May 23rd at a specially held event at Hyde Park Book Club in Leeds.

Watch the video for LELO’s ‘I Looked At The Sun’ below.

Sixteen Records Vol. 1 tracklisting:

1 Luna Pines – “Spring”
3 Hannah Slavin – U & I
4 Loris – “bitter”
5 Regista – “Orange Sky (feat. Kaya & Amber Joy)”
6 Jack Segal – “Touch Me Silver”
7 Dokkodo Sounds – “Sara”
8 Imi – “Monolith”
9 Ryan Hawkins – “Cinnamon”
10 JOULE – “Unmade Fire”
11 Eyre Llew – “Havoc”
12 magic hour soundtrack – “Eventually I’ll Catch Fire”