Tom Waits: Coloured vinyl isssues for Record Store Day; Asylum catalogue reissued

Some good news for fans of Tom Waits, especially those in the US.  The legendary singer-songwriter will have his first seven albums reissued on vinyl throughout 2018.  Each title will be re-pressed on 180g vinyl.

Tom’s much-loved debut, featuring the classics ‘Ol’ 55′, ‘I Hope I Don’t Fall In Love With You’ and ‘Martha’ – covered by Eagles, Hootie & The Blowfish and Tim Buckley, respectively – is available now.

The remaining six titles – ‘The Heart of Saturday Night’, ‘Nighthawks At The Diner’, ‘Small Change’, ‘Foreign Affairs’, ‘Blue Valentine’ and ‘Heart Attack & Vine’ will be released sporadically throughout the rest of the year.

The Asylum titles will be also made available on strictly limited coloured vinyl editions of 1000 each, exclusively via the online Tom Waits store.  [Visit here.]

In addition, the 3CD collection of rarities which came together under the blanket title of ‘Orphans’ in 2006 is to get a vinyl reissue for Record Store Day 2018.  Taking the original box set’s subtitle, ‘Brawlers’, ‘Bawlers’ and ‘Bastards’ will be released individually on red, blue and grey vinyl.   These titles are for US RSD only.

In the meantime, you can listen to a seventy-six song, career-spanning playlist – personally curated by Waits himself – here.