Tommy Bolin box set to be released soon

In 1975, Tommy Bolin released his solo album ‘Teaser’. The album – showcasing a variety of rock, blues and funk styles – is now considered a classic by many. It did not sell particularly well at the time of release; due to Bolin’s ongoing commitments with Deep Purple, he was unable to promote ‘Teaser’ extensively.

In 2011, a release named ‘Teaser Deluxe’ appeared on the market. Initially, this looked like it was to be an expanded version of the original album with a couple of unheard alternate takes. The album actually featured an entire disc of alternate takes.

A new ‘Teaser Deluxe’ 3CD box set has now been completed. The box set is said to conatain a remastered version of the original ‘Teaser’, plus two discs of alternate takes. It is not clear where the alternate takes have been sourced from, but it’s likely that across the two disc of alternate versions, the tracks from the 2011 ‘Teaser Deluxe’ will make a return appearance.

For the Bolin obsessive, a five CD set will also be available. The extra two discs do not contain any unheard Bolin tracks, but feature the ‘Great Gypsy Soul’ album, featuring other great musicians putting their stamp and finishing touches on Bolin’s otherwise incompleted music.

Confirmed track list (courtesy of

Disc 1

“Teaser” Remastered

01. The Grind
02. Homeward Strut
03. Dreamer
04. Savannah Woman
05. Teaser
06. People, People
07. Marching Powder
08. Wild Dogs
09. Lotus

Disc 2

Alternates and Outtakes

01. Teaser
02. Flying Fingers
03. Cookoo
04. Wild Dogs
05. Chameleon

Disc 3

01. Crazed Fandango
02. People, People
03. Smooth Fandango
04. Marching Powder
05. Homeward Strut
06. Oriental Sky (Lotus)

Deluxe version of “Great Gypsy Soul” track listing:

Disc 1

01. The Grind (w/ Peter Frampton)
02. Teaser (w/ Warren Haynes)
03. Dreamer (w/ Myles Kennedy and Nels Cline)
04. Savannah Woman (w/ John Scofield)
05. Smooth Fandango (w/ Derek Trucks)
06. People People (w/ Big Sugar and Gordie Johnson)
07. Wild Dogs (w/ Brad Whitford)
08. Homeward Strut (w/ Steve Lukather)
09. Sugar Shack (w/ Glenn Hughes and Sonny Landreth)
10. Crazed Fandango (w/ Steve Morse)
11. Lotus (w/ Joe Bonamassa, Glenn Huges and Nels Cline)

Disc 2 – Bonus CD

01. Flying Fingers (w/ Oz Noy and Nels Cline)
02. Marching Bag – Movement One (w/ Nels Cline, Bolin, Greg Hampton, John Scofield, Sonny Landreth)
03. Marching Bag – Movement Two (w/ Nels Cline, Bolin, Steve Lukather, Derek Trucks, Peter Frampton)
04. Marching Bag – Movement Three (w/ Gordie Johnson, Bolin, Nels Cline, Oz Noy, Steve Lukather, Steve Morse, Joe Bonamassa)
05. Marching Bag – Movement Four (w/ Nels Cline, Bolin, Warren Haynes, Joe Bonamassa, Oz Noy, Brad Whitford, Peter Frampton)

The box set will be released on July 31st.