Flea: “We wrote 70 songs for the new Red Hot Chili Peppers record”

In an interview with the BBC, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea has stated that when working on their upcoming album ‘I’m With You’, the band wrote seventy songs for consideration. With regards to only a mere fourteen of those making the final cut, the bassist says: “What was important to us when we put the record together was to make sure that each song filled its own space and was not like another song on the record. We wrote 70 songs, so it’s not even necessarily all the best ones that we put on, but just the ones that occupy their own space.

The final track listing for ‘I’m With You’ (UK release, 29th August) is as follows:

1. Monarchy of Roses
2. Factory of Faith
3. Brendan’s Death Song
4. Ethiopia
5. Annie Wants a Baby
6. Look Around
7. The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie
8. Did I Let You Know
9. Goodbye Hooray
10. Happiness Loves Company
11. Police Station
12. Even You Brutus?
13. Meet Me at the Corner
14. Dance, Dance, Dance