Metallica and Soundgarden confirmed for Sonisphere Spain

Following reports that Metallica have been confirmed to headline the Finnish leg of the 2012 Sonisphere Festival, they’ve now also been confirmed to headline Sonisphere Spain.

Joining Metallica on the bill are reformed grunge icons Soundgarden. Since both Metallica and Soundgarden are confirmed to appear at the UK Download Festival in June, it seems incredibly unlikely that either band will be appearing at the UK Sonisphere event.

So far, the confirmed line up for Sonisphere Spain 2012 looks like this:

7 Horns 7 Eyes to release debut full-length in April

7 Horns 7 Eyes will release their debut album on April 23rd 2012.

The album, ‘Throes of Absolution’ will showcase the bands blend of progressive/melodic death metal and be released in the UK and Europe via Basick Records. Ex-Nevermore guitarist Jeff Loomis appears as special guest.

Says guitarist Aaron Smith of the upcoming release: “7H7E has been on quite a journey since we embarked on recording this album, full of some big ups and downs– not the least of which being signed to Basick Records/Century Media, enduring a front-man change, re-recording all the album vocals, and sharing the stage with some great bands…and let me tell you—it feels amazing for us to know that we finally get to release this thing out into the world. Many of our fans have waited patiently for years for this record to drop, likely wondering at times if it ever even will, and we can’t thank them enough for sticking by us. Here’s to our fans and to 2012 being a great new year for 7 HORNS 7 EYES! See you on the road!” [Courtesy HoldTight PR]

A teaser trailer for the upcoming release can be viewed below.

1. Divine Amnesty
2. Phumis: The Falsehood of Affliction
3. The Hill Difficulty
4. Cycle of Self
5. Delusions
6. A Finite Grasp of Infinite Disillusion
7. Vindicator
8. The Winnowing
9. Regeneration

Prog/tech metal band Circles announce second Aussie tour

Melbourne based prog/tech/alternative metal band Circles have announced their second Australian tour.

Circles will take to the road with Twelve Foot Ninja and Jericco in March, stopping by at the following venues:
Mar 1 – The Basement, Canberra
Mar 2 – The Patch, Wollongong
Mar 3 – The Annandale, Sydney
Mar 10 – Enigma Bar, Adelaide
Mar 24 – Evelyn Hotel, Melbourne
Mar 29 – Mac’s Hotel, Melton
Mar 30 – Ferntree Gully Hotel, Ferntree Gully
Mar 31 – Pelly Bar, Frankston

Watch the first section of the band’s tour diary – courtesy of Terrorizer – by clicking here!

Circles are currently promoting their acclaimed ‘Compass’ EP, which was released by the groudbreaking, boundary pushing metal label Basick Records in 2011.

Ben Folds Five reunites!

Following the appearance of a couple of news songs for last year’s Ben Folds retrospective ‘The Best Imitation of Myself’, Ben Folds has reunited with drummer Darren Jessee and bassist Robert Sledge, collectively known as Ben Folds Five.

Ben Folds Five disbanded over a decade ago, following the release of their much loved 1999 release ‘The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner’, after which Folds began a hugely successful solo career.

Early reports suggest the trio are in the studio working on a brand new, full-length release. It is not yet known when the new material will see the light of day.

Born of Osiris: new video released

Chicago-based progressive metal band Born of Osiris have released a new video for their song ‘Follow The Signs’. Taken from their third release ‘The Discovery’, which was released almost a year ago. The track was produced by noted studio man Jason Suecof, noted for his work with Trivium and DevilDriver.

You can view the video clip below. Meanwhile, Born of Osiris’s label mates Veil of Maya also have new material out – details of which can be seen here.