Take a ‘Vacation’ with The Orwells

In June 2017, The Orwells played at the British Summer Time event at London’s Hyde Park, alongside Green Day, Rancid, Bash & Pop and more besides.  This coming weekend they’ll be appearing at the Reading and Leeds Festivals (August 25-27, 2017).
Later in the year, they’ve secured support slots with both Weezer and the legendary Pixies.  It’s certainly a busy time for the Chicago based band.

You can check out a full list of their post-Reading/Leeds tour dates below, as well as their new video – ‘Vacation’ – which mixes Strokes-obsessed sounds with some truly awful haircuts!

Sun. Aug. 27 – Newcastle upon Tyne, UK @ The Cluny
Mon. Aug. 28 – Nottingham, UK @ Bodega
Tue. Aug. 29 – Sheffield, UK @ The Leadmill
Wed. Aug. 30 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb ifor Bach
Fri. Sept. 1 – Vlieland Island, NL @ Into The Great Wide Open
Sat. Sept. 2 – Masstricht, NL @ Muziekgieterij
Fri. Sept. 8 – Dana Point, CA @ Ohana Music and Arts Festival
Sun. Sept. 17 – Chicago, IL @ Riot Fest
Sun. Oct. 15 – Berlin, DL @ Columbiahalle w/ Weezer
Mon. Oct. 16 – Cologne, DL @ E-Werk w/ Weezer
Wed. Oct. 18 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique w/ Weezer
Thu. Oct. 19 – Paris, FR @ Olympia w/ Weezer
Sat. Oct. 21 – Tilburg, NL @ 013 w/ Weezer
Mon. Oct. 23  – Leeds, UK @ O2 Academy Leeds w/ Weezer
Tue. Oct. 24 – Glasgow, UK @ O2 Academy Glasgow w/ Weezer
Wed. Oct. 25 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Academy Manchester w/ Weezer
Fri. Oct. 27 – Birmingham, UK @ O2 Academy Birmingham w/ Weezer
Sat. Oct. 28 – London, UK @ SSE Arena, Wembley w/ Weezer
Thu. Nov. 30 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater w/ Pixies
Fri. Dec. 1 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater w/ Pixies
Sun. Dec. 3 – Seattle, WA @ The Paramount Theatre w/ Pixies
Mon. Dec. 4 – Vancouver, BC @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre w/ Pixies

REAL GONE GOES OUT: Sleeper – Kentish Town Forum, London, 5/8/2017

It’s approximately 8:30pm. The house lights are wavering and there’s a growing feeling of tense excitement in the venue. Spent in the company of various bands from Britpop’s peak, the Star Shaped Festival has already provided a very enjoyable afternoon, but there’s also been a definite feeling throughout most of the day that a reformed Sleeper are the biggest draw, so perhaps this tense and nervous feeling is more than justified. There’s a lot riding on their return and this next hour.

Continue reading

LEVELLERS – Hello Pig

Following the release of 1997’s ‘Mouth To Mouth’ – arguably the Levellers’ most commercial album to date – the band found themselves at a career high. That long-player spawned the massive hit single ‘What a Beautiful Day’, which although fell just short of the UK top ten singles chart, became one of their best-known and enduring songs, leading to extensive radio play. As part of the promotion for that single, various TV appearances were also made.  The Levellers were arguably at their most visible to the general public.  Following a greatest hits package and more touring, Mark, Jeremy and company retreated to concentrate on writing new material. Continue reading

Watch the new video clip from No Vacation

Wistful pop and summer days seem to be at the forefront of No Vacation’s new single.  Accompanied by a suitably light video clip (available via the embedded box below), the dream pop act invite you to explore their ‘Mind Fields’…

The track comes from their forthcoming album, to be released in June 2017.  Regarding the video clip, in the band’s own words, “It’s about realizing that nothing is ever as good as it seems, yet embracing the freedom of letting it all go.”

ONE DAY, AFTER SCHOOL – The Invisible Anchor

Wakefield’s One Day, After School released their debut EP ‘In Skeletal’ at the very beginning of 2016. Given the timing of the release and it only being a four song affair, it seemed fair to think that a full length album would drop at some point that summer. The summer came and went. Then autumn…then a very cold winter. The band were nowhere to be seen. Fast forward to Easter 2017 and – finally – their triumphant return. To say it was worth the wait would be an understatement, since ‘The Invisible Anchor’ taps into everything that made the EP enjoyable and more besides.

Continue reading